The Best of Climate-Fiction

Bookmate
Bookmate
12Books

One fee. Stacks of books

You don’t just buy a book, you buy an entire library… for the same price!

Always have something to read

Friends, editors, and experts can help you find new and interesting books.

Read whenever, wherever

Your phone is always with you, so your books are too – even when you’re offline.

Rising waters, soaring heats - what will happen to Earth in the not-so-distant future?
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction9 months ago
OK – this is not a work of fiction. But some of the tales you'll read will leave you wishing it was.
Rising, Elizabeth Rush
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
In rural Mississippi, survival is part of daily life. So when Hurricane Katrina approaches the Gulf of Mexico, it’s just another day to get through. Here, hardship prevails. Love is pretty hard to come by; but it does occasionally stop by – when you least expect it.
Salvage the Bones, Jesmyn Ward
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
Seventy years from now, climate change has damaged the world, and civilization has lost its appetite for radical dreamers and innovation. Niko Rafaelo believes that the key to our future lies in revisiting a banned technology, and binding it with the human microbial cloud (the bacteria that surrounds each person).

It's more sci-fi than cli-fi, but the devastating effects of climate change is the pivot that drives this nightmare.
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
Forty years ago, Bakerton coal fueled the country. Then the mines closed, and the town wore away like a bar of soap. Now Bakerton has been granted a surprise third act: it sits squarely atop the Marcellus Shale, a massive deposit of natural gas. One question: To drill or not to drill?

Told through a cast of characters whose lives are increasingly bound by the opposing interests that underpin the national debate, Heat and Light depicts a community blessed and cursed by its natural resources. Soaring and ambitious, it zooms from drill rig to shareholders’ meeting to the Three Mile Island nuclear reactor to the ruined landscape of the “strippins,” haunting reminders of Pennsylvania’s past energy booms. This is a dispatch from a forgotten America—a work of searing moral clarity from one of the finest writers of her generation, a courageous and necessary book.
Heat and Light, Jennifer Haigh
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
It's 2025. Tyrone O'Shaughnessy Tierwater is eking out a bleak living in southern California, managing a pop-star's private menagerie, holding some of the last surviving animals in the world. Global warming is a reality. In his youth, Ty had been so serious about environmental issues that as an ecoterrorist committed to Earth Forever! he had endangered the lives of both his daughter, Sierra, and his wife, Andrea. Now, when the past seems far behind him and he is just trying to survive in a world cursed by storm and drought, Andrea returns to his life …
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
Less than a hundred years from now, the world as we know it no longer exists. Cities have disappeared beneath the sea, technology no longer functions, and human civilization has reverted completely. Only Mara has the vision and the will to save the people of her drowning island as they search for a new home-her hope bolstered by information from a young revolutionary she met online in the last vestiges of the internet. His home, the sky city of New Mungo, is their only option.
Exodus, Julie Bertagna
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an “action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for.”
Breathe, Sarah Crossan
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
Wars are waged over water, and China rules Europe, including the Scandinavian Union, which is occupied by the power state of New Qian. In this far north place, seventeen-year-old Noria Kaitio is learning to become a tea master like her father, a position that holds great responsibility and great secrets. Tea masters alone know the location of hidden water sources, including the natural spring that Noria’s father tends, which once provided water for her whole village.

But secrets do not stay hidden forever, and after her father’s death the army starts watching their town—and Noria. And as water becomes even scarcer, Noria must choose between safety and striking out, between knowledge and kinship.
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
When a group of eco-terrorists engage in a global conspiracy to generate weather-related natural disasters, its up to environmental lawyer Peter Evans and his team to uncover the subterfuge. From Tokyo to Los Angeles, from Antarctica to the Solomon Islands, Michael Crichton mixes cutting edge science and action-packed adventure, leading readers on an edge-of-your-seat ride while offering up a thought-provoking commentary on the issue of global warming.
State Of Fear, Michael Crichton
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
From the first pioneers who looked back at Earth and saw a small blue star, to the first colonists – hand-picked scientists with the skills necessary to create life from cold desert – Red Mars is the story of a new genesis. It is also the story of how Man must struggle against his own self-destructive mechanisms to achieve his dreams: before he even sets foot on the red planet, factions are forming, tensions are rising and violence is brewing… for civilization can be very uncivilized.
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
Flight Behavior is a brilliant and suspenseful novel set in present day Appalachia; a breathtaking parable of catastrophe and denial that explores how the complexities we inevitably encounter in life lead us to believe in our particular chosen truths. Kingsolver's riveting story concerns a young wife and mother on a failing farm in rural Tennessee who experiences something she cannot explain, and how her discovery energizes various competing factions—religious leaders, climate scientists, environmentalists, politicians—trapping her in the center of the conflict and ultimately opening up her world.
Flight Behavior, Barbara Kingsolver
Bookmate
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfThe Best of Climate-Fiction2 years ago
What happens when bio-terrorism becomes a tool for corporate profits and forces mankind to the cusp of post-human evolution? Bacigalupi delivers one of the most highly-acclaimed science fiction novels of the twenty-first century. In this world, Anderson Lake is AgriGen's Calorie Man, sent to work undercover as a factory manager in Thailand while combing Bangkok's street markets in search of foodstuffs thought to be extinct, hoping to reap the bounty of history's lost calories.
fb2epub
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)