Emily Larkin

Resisting Miss Merryweather

*Desert Isle Keeper*
“A charming, romantic novella that shows how magical life can be with the right person at your side.”

~ Sara @ All About Romance 
Sir Barnaby Ware made a mistake two and a half years ago. A massive mistake. The sort of mistake that can never be atoned for.
He knows himself to be irredeemable, but the captivating and unconventional Miss Merryweather is determined to prove him wrong.
The daughter of a dancing master and a noblewoman, Miss Merryweather had an unusual upbringing. She sees things no one else sees—and she says things no one else says.
Sir Barnaby knows he’s the villain in this piece, but Miss Merryweather thinks he’s the hero—and she is damnably hard to resist… 
“Larkin has a writing style that I adore, and I wholeheartedly recommend this novella.”
~ Lady Blue @ Romantic Historical Reviews
“A moving story, with characters brimming with life and emotions.”
~ NetGalley Reviewer 
Length: Novella of 33,000 words
Sensuality level: A hot Regency romance with steamy love scenes 

Q & A with the author

Why did you write this book? 
When I finished writing Unmasking Miss Appleby (the first book in the Baleful Godmother series) I was surprised by how sorry I felt for Sir Barnaby. He’d made a dreadful mistake and ruined the most important friendship in his life. I felt Barnaby deserved a chance to redeem himself, so I decided to give him one!
How would you describe this book?
It's a novella about friendship, forgiveness, and falling in love. There’s also a little science, and some magic. Although it’s a companion novella to Unmasking Miss Appleby, it can be read as a standalone.
How would you describe your writing?
Several reviewers have likened my writing to Georgette Heyer, which is the hugest compliment ever. I adore Georgette Heyer! She's why I write historical romance, and I reread her books over and over. (If you've not read The Grand Sophy, please do so!) I've also had readers compare my writing to Courtney Milan and Mary Balogh, which are also massive compliments.
What order should I read the series in?
Each book, whether a novel or novella, can be read as a standalone, but many readers prefer to read them in order. And although the series is set in Regency England, a quartet of medieval novellas form the prequel.
The ideal reading order would be:
The Fey Quartet (series prequel)
Maythorn's Wish
Hazel's Promise
Ivy's Choice
Larkspur's Quest
The Baleful Godmother series
Unmasking Miss Appleby
Resisting Miss Merryweather
Trusting Miss Trentham
Claiming Mister Kemp
Ruining Miss Wrotham
Discovering Miss Dalrymple
Plus more interlinked Baleful Godmother series to come.
Happy reading!
135 printed pages
Original publication
Publication year
Emily Larkin
Have you already read it? How did you like it?
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)