Liam McCann

Greatest Moments of the TT Races

There is nothing on Earth quite like the Isle of Man TT Races. No other motorcycle race is held on such a challenging track as the 37-mile plus Mountain Course with its seemingly never-ending series of bends, bumps, jumps, stone walls, manhole covers and telegraph poles. The skill, bravery and concentration levels required are immense, with speeds approaching 200mph, and, while difficult to learn and even harder to come first, the rewards for winning on the world famous course are like no other. No other motorsport event can boast such illustrious history, rich in tradition and legends, and to have your name inscribed on a TT trophy is to sit with the gods. This unique book is a collection of the 25 greatest moments in the history of the TT. From the legendary races at the beginning of the 20th century to the stars who have made the sport their own, author Liam McCann looks at the thrills and spills that have wowed crowds and TV audiences for more than 110 years. Marvel at Geoff Duke’s mastery of the Snaefell Mountain Course, the epic dices between Mike Hailwood and Giacomo Agostini in the sport’s most dangerous era, and Ian Hutchinson’s remarkable clean sweep of five solo wins in 2010. Greatest Moments of the TT would not be complete without mention of the late great Joey Dunlop OBE — the TT's most decorated rider with 26 wins — and John McGuinness still trying to overtake his record while also fast approaching 50 years of age.
149 printed pages
Original publication



    How did you like the book?

    Sign in or Register
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)