E. M. Forster

4 Novels by E.M.Forster: Where Angels Fear to Tread + The Longest Journey + A Room with a View + Howards End (4 Unabridged Classics in 1 eBook)

This carefully crafted ebook: “4 Novels by E.M.Forster: Where Angels Fear to Tread + The Longest Journey + A Room with a View + Howards End (4 Unabridged Classics in 1 eBook)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents.

First novel by E.M.Foster, Where Angels Fear to Tread (1905), is the story of Lilia, a young English widow who falls in love with an Italian man, and of the efforts of her bourgeois relatives to get her back from Monteriano.

Next, Forster published The Longest Journey (1907), an inverted bildungsroman following the lame Rickie Elliott from Cambridge to a career as a struggling writer and then to a post as a schoolmaster, married to the unappealing Agnes Pembroke.

Forster's third novel, A Room with a View (1908), is his lightest and most optimistic. It is about a young woman in the repressed culture of Edwardian era England. Set in Italy and England, the story is both a romance and a critique of English society at the beginning of the 20th century.

Howards End is a novel by E. M. Forster, first published in 1910, which tells a story of social and familial relations in turn-of-the-century England. Howards End is considered by some to be Forster's masterpiece.

Edward Morgan Forster (1879 – 1970) was an English novelist, short story writer, and essayist. He is known best for his ironic and well-plotted novels examining class difference and hypocrisy in early 20th-century British society. His humanistic impulse toward understanding and sympathy may be aptly summed up in the epigraph to his 1910 novel Howards End: “Only connect”.
965 printed pages

Related books



    How did you like the book?

    Sign in or Register
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)