The American Crisis

The American Crisis was a series of pamphlets published from 1776 to 1783 during the American Revolution by eighteenth century Enlightenment philosopher and author Thomas Paine. The first volume begins with the famous words «These are the times that try men's souls». There were sixteen pamphlets in total together often known as "The American Crisis" or simply “The Crisis”. Thirteen numbered pamphlets were published between 1776–1777 with three additional pamphlets released between 1777–1783. The writings were contemporaneous with the early parts of the American Revolution, during the times that colonists needed inspiring.
They were written in a language the common man could manage and are indicative of Paine's liberal philosophies. Paine signed them with one of his many pseudonyms “Common Sense”. The writings bolstered the morale of the American colonists, appealed to the English people's consideration of the war with America, clarified the issues at stake in the war and denounced the advocates of a negotiated peace.
Add to shelf
Already read
275 printed pages
Read for free

Related booksAll

Thomas Paine

Common Sense

Thomas Paine

Writings of Thomas Paine — Volume 4 (1794-1796): the Age of Reason

Thomas Paine
A Let­ter Ad­dressed to the Abbe Ray­nal, on the Af­fairs of North Amer­ica, in Which the Mis­takes in the Abbe's Ac­count of the Rev­o­lu­tion of Amer­ica Are Cor­rected and Cleared Up

Thomas Paine

A Letter Addressed to the Abbe Raynal, on the Affairs of North America, in Which the Mistakes in the Abbe's Account of the Revolution of America Are Corrected and Cleared Up

Thomas Paine
The Writ­ings Of Thomas Paine, Com­plete / With In­dex to Vol­umes I - IV

Thomas Paine

The Writings Of Thomas Paine, Complete / With Index to Volumes I - IV

Thomas Paine

Writings of Thomas Paine — Volume 2 (1779-1792): the Rights of Man

Thomas Paine, Tom Griffith

Rights of Man

Thomas Paine

The Age of Reason

Don’t give a book.
Give a library.
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)