Margaret Redfern

The Heart Remembers

Sequel to the The Storyteller's Granddaughter.

Leaving? What is that? It means nothing. While the heart remembers there is no leaving.

Welshman, Dai, a trader, and his motley band of fellow-travellers have landed in Venice, their welcome marred by a vicious quarrel on the quayside. It is an omen of troubles to come. Here, men are tortured to death at the pointing of a suspicious finger. In the English Fens, Edgar and Agathi face an incomer intent on stealing their inheritance. In Wales, Edward the English king is stamping hard on a proud people dangerously outnumbered.

Intent on finding her English grandfather — Will the Wordmaker — Kazan, as her companions know her, will need all her talents and wiles simply to stay alive. Half a year later, where the River Mawddach reaches the Irish Sea, where Will began his journey, an ending is reached … and for Sophia, the storyteller’s granddaughter, a new beginning.

A thrilling picaresque adventure in storytelling from the author of Flint and The Storyteller’s Granddaughter.

367 printed pages
Original publication
Honno Press


How did you like the book?

Sign in or Register
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)