The Collected Stories of Hortense Calisher, Hortense Calisher
Hortense Calisher

The Collected Stories of Hortense Calisher

732 printed pages
Finalist for the National Book Award: Thirty-six stories by O. Henry Award–winning novelist Hortense Calisher
The Collected Stories of Hortense Calisher
gathers short pieces that chart the author’s best-loved themes of mindful consciousness and social worlds. This collection includes one of her well-known New Yorker stories, “In Greenwich There Are Many Gravelled Walks,” in which a young man drops his mother off at a sanitarium and acquires a new friend who finally awakens him to the world. Also included are “The Sound of Waiting,” one of the chapters in the Elkin family saga; the chilling, Jamesian “The Scream on Fifty-seventh Street,” in which a New York widow hears a scream late one night but cannot decide how to investigate without appearing to her neighbors to have gone mad; and the nearly novella-length “The Summer Rebellion.”
To read this book, upload an EPUB or FB2 file to Bookmate. How do I upload a book?
Search on Google
Add to shelf



How did you like the book?

Sign in or Register
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)