Sylvie and Bruno – Complete Series (All 3 Books in One Illustrated Edition), Lewis Carroll
Lewis Carroll

Sylvie and Bruno – Complete Series (All 3 Books in One Illustrated Edition)

Sylvie and Bruno is a novel for children by Lewis Carroll published in 1889. The work evolved from his short story “Bruno's Revenge,” published in 1867 in Aunt Judy's Magazine. With its sequel, Sylvie and Bruno Concluded (1893), it was his final work for children. The novel has two main plots; one set in the real world at the time the book was published (the Victorian era), the other in the fictional world of Fairyland. While the latter plot is a fairytale with many nonsense elements and poems, similar to Carroll's most famous children's book Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, the story set in Victorian Britain is a social novel. The French philosopher Gilles Deleuze termed Sylvie and Bruno “a masterpiece which shows entirely new techniques compared to Alice and Through the Looking-Glass.”
Charles Lutwidge Dodgson better known by the pseudonym Lewis Carroll (1832 — 1898), was an English author, mathematician, logician, Anglican deacon and photographer.
650 printed pages
Original publication


How did you like the book?

Sign in or Register
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)