Nathaniel Hawthorne

Dark Tales: Collected Gothic Novels and Stories (Illustrated)

This carefully crafted ebook: “Dark Tales: Collected Gothic Novels and Stories (Illustrated)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents.


“I am afraid this ghost story will bear a very faded aspect when transferred to paper. Whatever effect it had on you, or whatever charm it retains in your memory, is, perhaps, to be attributed to the favorable circumstances under which it was originally told.” (The Ghost of Doctor Harris)

“The aspect of the venerable mansion has always affected me like a human countenance, bearing the traces not merely of outward storm and sunshine, but expressive also, of the long lapse of mortal life, and accompanying vicissitudes that have passed within.” (The House of the Seven Gables)

American novelist and short story writer Nathaniel Hawthorne’s (1804–1864) writing centers on New England, many works featuring moral allegories with a Puritan inspiration. His fiction works are considered to be part of the Romantic movement and, more specifically, Dark romanticism. His themes often centre on the inherent evil and sin of humanity, and his works often have moral messages and deep psychological complexity.


Introduction: Biography of Nathaniel Hawthorne

The House of the Seven Gables (A Novel)

The Minister’s Black Veil

The Hollow of the Three Hills

The White Old Maid

Dr. Heidegger's Experiment

The Birthmark

Young Goodman Brown

Rappaccini's Daughter

Roger Malvin's Burial

The Artist of the Beautiful

John Inglefield's Thanksgiving

Wives of the Dead

An Old Woman's Tale

Antique Ring

Graves and Goblins

The Ghost of Doctor Harris

794 printed pages


How did you like the book?

Sign in or Register
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)