Jeff Pepper

The Immortal Peaches

“The Immortal Peaches” is the third book in the «Journey to the West” series of stories by Jeff Pepper and Xiao Hui Wang. Other titles include «Rise of the Monkey King”, «Trouble in Heaven” and "The Young Monk”.

Sun Wukong, the Handsome Monkey King, is one of most famous characters in Chinese literature and culture. His legendary bravery, his foolish mistakes, his sharp-tongued commentary and his yearning for immortality and spiritual knowledge have inspired hundreds of books, television shows, graphic novels, video games and films.

In this, the third book in the «Journey to the West” series, we wrap up the story of Sun Wukong’s early years, before he joins the monk Xuanzang’s little band of travelers and journeys to the West. Once again the Monkey King’s unlimited ambitions and uncontrolled appetites land him in deep trouble. He is given a job in heaven taking care of the Emperor’s Garden of Immortal Peaches, but he can’t stop himself from eating all the peaches. He impersonates a great Immortal and crashes a party in Heaven, stealing the guests’ food and drink and barely escaping to his loyal troop of monkeys back on Earth. And in the end, he battles an entire army of Immortals and men, and discovers that even calling himself the Great Sage Equal to Heaven does not make him equal to everyone in Heaven.

The story is written, as much as possible, using the 600 word vocabulary of HSK 3. It is presented in simplified Chinese characters and pinyin, and includes an English version and complete glossary. Additional study aids are on our website,
54 printed pages
Original publication
Imagin8 LLC
Xiao Hui Wang



    How did you like the book?

    Sign in or Register
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)