Nathaniel Hawthorne,Walter Crane,Virginia Frances Sterrett

Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Wonderful Tales for Children (Illustrated Unabridged Edition)

This carefully crafted ebook: “Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Wonderful Tales for Children (Illustrated Unabridged Edition)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents.


“Grandfather,” said little Alice, laying her head back upon his arm, “I am very tired now. You must tell me a story to make me go to sleep.” “That is not what story-tellers like,” answered Grandfather, smiling. “They are better satisfied when they can keep their auditors awake.” (Grandfather’s Chair)

A Wonder-Book for Girls and Boys (1851) is a children's book in which Hawthorne rewrites myths from Greek mythology. It was followed by a sequel, Tanglewood Tales for Boys and Girls. The Snow-Image, and Other Twice-Told Tales is the final collection of short stories published by Nathaniel Hawthorne in his lifetime, appearing in 1852. Grandfather’s Chair is a collection of tales on the Puritan History and along with Biographical stories contribute to the historical knowledge of the children.

American novelist and short story writer Nathaniel Hawthorne’s (1804–1864) significantly contributed to the Children’s Literature. His ancestors include John Hathorne, the only judge involved in the Salem witch trials who never repented of his actions. Nathaniel later added a “w” to make his name “Hawthorne” in order to hide this relation.


Twice-Told Tales (1837)

Grandfather's Chair (1840)

Biographical Stories

Wonder Book For Girls and Boys (1851)

The Snow Image and Other Twice Told Tales (1852)

Tanglewood Tales For Girls and Boys (1853)
791 printed pages


How did you like the book?

Sign in or Register
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)