Gillian Galbraith

No Sorrow to Die

Scottish detective Alice Rice stalks a serial killer in this thriller steeped in “chilling realism” from the author of Blood in the Water (Edinburgh Evening News).
As Heather Brodie kisses her lover goodnight, her disabled husband lies dead, his throat cut from ear to ear. Who wanted Gavin Brodie dead? Many people, including Gavin Brodie. Crushed by an incurable illness, he pleaded to be allowed to die.
When DS Alice Rice is brought in to investigate, another terminally ill man is found murdered. It could be a coincidence—or it could be something much more sinister: a serial killer preying on the sick and infirm. And Alice has more worries when she suspects her partner, Ian Melville, is lying to her. This atmospheric thriller builds on the success of the first three Alice Rice mysteries and is a passionate tale of deception, betrayal, and the value of life and love.
“Highly readable.” —Alexander McCall Smith, New York Times–bestselling author of Dream Angus
“An author to watch.” —Publishing News
“She’s onto a winner with her chosen location of Edinburgh. Its brooding architecture and narrow alleyways suit dark tales . . . All-in-all, a satisfying detective novel with all loose ends nicely tied up.” —The Bookbag
“[Galbraith] offers a much-needed female perspective on the city and the genre.” —Scottish Field
235 printed pages
Original publication


How did you like the book?

Sign in or Register
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)