R.Scott Bakker

The Darkness that Comes Before

A mysterious traveler intervenes in an epic holy war in this “impressive, challenging debut” of the critically acclaimed fantasy epic (Publishers Weekly, starred review).
The first book in R. Scott Bakker's Prince of Nothing series introduces readers to a strikingly original and engrossingly vivid new world. With its language and classes of people, its cities, religions, mysteries, taboos, and rituals, The Darkness That Comes Before has drawn comparison to J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings and Frank Herbert’s Dune.
Bakker’s Eärwa is a world scarred by an apocalyptic past, evoking a time both two thousand years past and two thousand years into the future. As untold thousands gather for a crusade, two men and two women are ensnared by a mysterious traveler, Anasûrimbor Kellhus—part warrior, part philosopher, part sorcerous, charismatic presence—from lands long thought dead. The Darkness That Comes Before is a history of this great holy war, and like all histories, the survivors write its conclusion.
759 printed pages
Original publication
Publication year
Have you already read it? How did you like it?

On the bookshelves

Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)