Henry Rider Haggard

The Ultimate Allan Quatermain Collection

Listen in app
The Ultimate Allan Quatermain Collection includes the 8 full-length novels, 4 short stories and 1 extracanonical work featuring Allan Quatermain.
The character Allan Quatermain is an English-born professional big game hunter and occasional trader living in South Africa. An outdoorsman who finds English cities and climate unbearable, he prefers to spend most of his life in Africa, where he grew up under the care of his widower father, a Christian missionary. In the earliest-written novels, native Africans refer to Quatermain as Macumazahn, meaning Watcher-by-Night, a reference to his nocturnal habits and keen instincts. In later-written novels, Macumazahn is said to be a short form of Macumazana, meaning One who stands out. Quatermain is frequently accompanied by his native servant, the Hottentot Hans, a wise and caring family retainer from his youth. His sarcastic comments offer a sharp critique of European conventions. In his final adventures, Quatermain is joined by two British companions, Sir Henry Curtis and Captain John Good of the Royal Navy, and by his African friend Umslopogaas.
Included in this collection:
1. King Solomon's Mines (1885)
2. Allan Quatermain (1887)
3. Allan's Wife and Other Tales (1887): Allan's Wife / Hunter Quatermain's Story / A Tale of Three Lions / Long Odds
4. Marie (1912)
5. Child of Storm (1913)
6. Allan and the Holy Flower (1915)
7. The Ivory Child (1916)
8. The Ancient Allan (1920)
9. She and Allan (1920)
10. Extracanonical Work: Magepa the Buck (1912)
Publication year
Have you already read it? How did you like it?
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)