Arnold Bennett

The Matador of the Five Towns and Other Stories (Unabridged)

Listen in app
The Matador of the Five Towns and Other Stories is a collection written by English writer Arnold Bennett (1867-1931). It was first published in 1912. These satirical stories draw on author's experience of life in the Potteries, as did most of his best work. This collection includes 22 tales of life in the five pottery manufacturing towns of Staffordshire: Mimi, The Supreme Illusion, The Letter and the Lie, The Glimpse, Jock-at-a-Venture, The Heroism of Thomas Chadwick, Under the Clock, Three Episodes in the Life of Mr Cowlishaw Dentist, Catching the Train, The Widow of the Balcony, The Cat and Cupid, The Fortune Teller, The Long Lost Uncle, The Tight Hand, Why the Clock Stopped, Hot Potatoes, Half a Sovereign, The Blue Suit, The Tiger and the Baby, The Revolver, An Unfair Advantage.
Copyright owner
Publication year
Have you already read it? How did you like it?
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)