The Letters of Charlotte Brontë

Listen in app
“Imogen Stubb’s reading of her letters show us a character so fine, so sympathetic that in the end we are uplifted... by her account of life in the dark, dank vicarage at Haworth.” Good Book Guide

“These provide a welcome addition to our collection of Bronteana... the reading is sympathetic and lively and makes most compelling listening.” Bronte Society

The brief and tragic life of Charlotte Brontë (1816-1855) is told through the beautiful and passionate letters written to her best friend Ellen Nussey.

Born and brought up in the bleak Haworth parsonage and having travelled abroad to study in Brussels she returns to the Yorkshire moors where she writes her most successful novel Jane Eyre. Her literary success is not enjoyed for long, as first her brother Branwell dies in September 1848, followed within a few weeks by the death of her sister Emily and then whilst on holiday during the summer her youngest sister Anne also dies, leaving Charlotte suddenly alone with her aged father. Her final years are spent writing further novels and walking alone on her beloved moors and although she eventually marries her father’s curate, her happiness is sadly cut short as she herself is to die within a few months of the wedding.

Also available as part of the CLASSIC LETTERS & JOURNALS BOX SET, a seven-volume edition.
The Letters & Journals of Lord Nelson with Charles DanceThe Letters of Charlotte Bronte with Imogen StubbsScott of the Antarctic with Edward FoxThe Highland Journals of Queen Victoria with Virginia McKennaThe Letters of Lord Byron with Robert Powell The Letters of Jane Austen with Fiona ShawThe Journals of Dorothy Wordsworth with Jenny Agutter

© & ℗ 2022 Mr Punch Audiobooks Ltd
Publication year
Have you already read it? How did you like it?
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)