George Eliot

Brother Jacob

Listen in app
Brother Jacob is a short story by George Eliot, first published in 1860.

In Brother Jacob, George Eliot explores the relationship between the selfish, self-centred and ambitious David Faux and his idiot brother, Jacob.

Unabridged, full text version. Totalt running time (TRT): 1 hour, 45 min.

Mary Anne Evans (1819-1880), better known by her pen name George Eliot, was an English novelist, journalist and translator, and one of the leading writers of the Victorian era. She is the author of seven novels, including Adam Bede (1859), The Mill on the Floss (1860), Silas Marner (1861), Middlemarch (1871-72), and Daniel Deronda (1876), most of them set in provincial England and known for their realism and psychological insight.

In December 2015, BBC Culture polled book critics outside the UK, to give an outsider’s perspective on the best in British literature. Out of 100 listed novels, Middlemarch by George Eliot listed as #1 and Daniel Deronda listed as #70.
Anncona Media
Publication year
Have you already read it? How did you like it?
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)