Edith Wharton

The Valley of Decision

Listen in app
The Valley of Decision (1902) is the first long novel of Edith Wharton. The story is set in 18th century Italy, where Odo Valsecca rises to power. The four books of the novel describes how he becomes a responsible member of Italian nobility. During his journey, he has to deal with the aristocracy, the church, the free thinkers, and the peasants. We find detailed, deep and rich descriptions of characters from all classes, along with the political background of the era. We can follow Odo's life from his youth—influenced by St. Francis Assisi, poverty and grief—through young adulthood—characterized by contacts with free thinkers, love, court spies and intrigues—to maturity, when he accepts the honor and duty of being the Duke of Pianura.
Copyright owner
Publication year
Have you already read it? How did you like it?
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)