‎Robert Louis Stevenson

A Child's Garden of Verses

Listen in app
A Child's Garden of Verses is a collection of poetry for children by the Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson, a collection that concerns childhood, illness, play, and solitude. The collection first appeared in 1885 under the title Penny Whistles, but has been reprinted many times, often in illustrated versions. It contains about 65 poems, including "Foreign Children", "The Lamplighter," "The Land of Counterpane", "Bed in Summer", "My Shadow", and "The Swing".
In 1922, the classical scholar Terrot Reaveley Glover published a translation of the poems into Latin under the title Carmina non prius audita de ludis et hortis virginibus puerisque.
Famous works of the author Robert Louis Stevenson: Treasure Island, An Inland Voyage, A Child's Garden of Verses, Kidnapped, Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, The Black Arrow, The Master of Ballantrae and many more.


How did you like the book?

Sign in or Register

Open the app & listen

Bookmate now offers audiobooks! We have stacks for you to listen to, but right now you can only do that on your phone or tablet via our apps.

A Child's Garden of Verses
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)