68Books895.4KFollowers
68Books895.4KFollowers

Books in the “Book of the week” bookshelf created by Bookmate

Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the weeklast year
A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah.
Join or log in to comment
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week8 days ago
Over the course of the eight-week Sleep Well programme, you will learn the surprising and effective habits necessary to optimise the length and quality of your sleep and transform your relationship with rest, resulting in long-term benefits to your health, mood and productivity.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the weeklast month
At the age of twelve, Pat Sheedy placed his first 10p bet and concocted his first scam. This marked the beginning of his descent into a compulsive gambling addiction that would lead to close to one hundred criminal convictions, over a million euro squandered on bets and time served in some of Ireland's most unforgiving prisons. Now, almost four decades later, Pat Sheedy has, against all odds, got his life back on track and taken control of his addiction.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the weeklast month
Heartwarming and uplifting, Every Shade of Happy will make you laugh, cry and want to call your grandfather. The first adult novel by award-winning British author, Phyllida Shrimpton.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week2 months ago
Acclaimed cooker writer Ghillie Basan embarks on a journey around Scotland's coastline and over to the islands to capture the essence of our nation's seafood through the stories of fisherman, farmers, artisan smokers and curers, boat builders and net makers, creels and shacks, skin tanners and age-old traditions.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week2 months ago
'Roman military adventure at its best. Ranks with the best historical fiction available today.' Simon Turney
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week3 months ago
Christopher Jones offers a practical guide for conquering common phobias and anxiety. The book outlines his 7-step Integrated Change System, providing readers with guided exercises to identify and overcome the sources of their fears.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week3 months ago
A gripping thriller set in 1979's suburban Ridgefield, it revolves around four couples. Amidst a heat wave, they gather for a weekly dinner party. The evening seems ordinary, a break from daily life. But beneath the facade of perfect marriages, secrets lurk.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week4 months ago
Barry Keith introduces his first book tailored for kids, seamlessly blending personal anecdotes from his own childhood with inspirational tips and life lessons. Drawing from his bestselling book for adults, "Brain Hacks," Keith offers techniques that have empowered thousands, now reworked to instill a winning mindset in children. From building confidence to handling setbacks and realizing true potential, "Mind Magic" provides tried-and-tested tips and tricks to encourage young readers to succeed in various aspects of their lives, be it academics, confidence-building, or achieving success in sports.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week4 months ago
Only now appearing in English translation, Clemens Meyer’s debut — first published in German in 2007 — is an extraordinary coming of age novel by one of Germany's most ambitious writers, full of passion, rage, hope and despair. The book was longlisted for the International Booker Prize.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week5 months ago
This is a captivating guide for book lovers, offering a concise bucket list of essential reads that transcend cultural and genre boundaries. Delving into the wisdom of literary giants like Dickens, Austen, and Murakami, the book explores themes beyond romance and wealth, tackling conflict, oppression, identity, and psychology. With over a hundred classic works from around the world, this gem reveals the transformative power of literature, illustrating how books enrich our understanding of ourselves and the diverse world we inhabit. An invitation to explore universal truths, it reminds us that a single book can change an entire life.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week5 months ago
"North Sea," co-authored by Dorthe Nors and Henrik Saxgren, offers an exhilarating and moving account of life along the untamed Danish coast. Shortlisted for the 2023 Wainwright Prize for Nature Writing and the James Tait Black Prize for Biography, the book delves into the world of shipwrecks, storm surges, and the resilient communities that call this rugged coastline home. Through spellbinding prose, the authors guide readers on a powerful and beautiful journey through history, memory, and the captivating landscape that has shaped generations.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week6 months ago
Finding the battered body of a young boy was not unusual in Bloody Mary’s cruel England. However, the stabbed tongue, a false seal, and a strange letter implicate Princess Elizabeth, threatening to bring down the Tudor Dynasty.

It's a brilliant historical thriller!
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week7 months ago
At once a celebration of human history and a timely call to action, Human Being empowers readers to build better habits around — and away from — technology, and reminds us just how extraordinary human achievement can be.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week7 months ago
A former police volunteer claims to have discovered the identity of the figure behind some of the most shocking crimes in British history, unmasking the 19th-century murderer who terrorized the nation as Jack the Ripper.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week8 months ago
In prose that is by turns poetic, comic, macabre, haunting, and humane, multi-award-winning author Alan Warner traces the last journey through Scotland of a man who history will come to define for his failure.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week9 months ago
Summer of '85, the story of a mass shooting and an old summer love. Winner of the Novel Excerpt Contest at Seven Hills Review, finalist for the American Fiction Award, and distinguished favorite for the NYC Big Book Award.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the week10 months ago
In the suburban town of Hampton, the peaceful night air is shattered by gunfire. Outside a local pub, five are feared dead and the murderer has fled the scene. DCI Helen Lavery works alongside the counter-terrorism unit to investigate. Who is behind the mass shooting? Why target this town?

An authentic, powerful, and gripping police procedural.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the weeklast year
A panoramic vision — suspenseful, comedic, prophetic — set in a near-future California that has been devastated by NK3, a memory-destroying virus from North Korea. In post-NK3 Los Angeles, a sixty-foot-tall fence surrounds the hills where the rich used to live, but the mansions have been taken over by those with the only power that matters: the power of memory. Life for the community inside the Fence, ruled over by the new aristocracy, the Verified, is a perpetual party.
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the weeklast year
SF-horror novella shortlisted for the James Tiptree and Shirley Jackson awards.

Set in the Valley of the Rocks, a place removed from the bustling cities and towns, a group of men and boys gather each night around the flickering fire to share their stories. In this world where women have vanished, the remaining individuals are left with only the rest of their lives to contemplate.

Prepare to immerse yourself in the tales spun around the campfire, witnessing the birth of a myth. In a world devoid of women, where the past is saturated with sorrow, how long should one hold onto grief? Can the forest, shrouded in its mysteries, offer transformative secrets capable of reshaping everything?
Bookmateadded a book to the bookshelfBook of the weeklast year
If you're a fan of David Lynch's surreal and dreamlike films, you'll likely enjoy Yelena Moskovich's novel, Virtuoso. Moskovich's writing style is characterized by poetic and cryptic phrasing, slow seductions, and a taste for the weird, creating an off-kilter and fascinating reading experience.

The novel centers on women, their relationships, and their intense desires, often exploring the visceral and disconnected experience of the body. Moskovich draws inspiration from a variety of sources, including Elena Ferrante, Antonin Artaud, and Anaïs Nin.

Although some of the novel's strangeness can be confusing, Moskovich's writing is often compelling and determined in its efforts to capture the elusive nature of desire, grief, and love.
fb2epub
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)