Romance of the Three Kingdoms (vol. 1)

Romance of the Three Kingdoms, attributed to Luo Guanzhong, is a historical novel set in the turbulent years towards the end of the Han dynasty and the Three Kingdoms period in Chinese history, starting in 169 AD and ending with the reunification of the land in 280. The story – part historical, part legend, and part mythical – romanticises and dramatises the lives of feudal lords and their retainers, who tried to replace the dwindling Han dynasty or restore it. While the novel follows hundreds of characters, the focus is mainly on the three power blocs that emerged from the remnants of the Han dynasty, and would eventually form the three states of Cao Wei, Shu Han, and Eastern Wu. The novel deals with the plots, personal and military battles, intrigues, and struggles of these states to achieve dominance for almost 100 years.
Romance of the Three Kingdoms is acclaimed as one of the Four Great Classical Novels of Chinese literature; it has a total of 800,000 words and nearly a thousand dramatic characters (mostly historical) in 120 chapters. The novel is among the most beloved works of literature in East Asia.
Add to shelf
Already read
1,997 printed pages

Related booksAll

Henry Cloud, John Townsend


Colin Batrouney

Creative Writing for Beginners

Speedy Publishing

Beauty Recipes, Herbal Remedies and Natural Beauty Care Guide

Michael Katzenberg

The Astrology of Whole Relationships

Barbara Gardner Conklin, Robert Gardner

Ace Your Human Biology Science Project

Erin Sullivan

The Astrology of Family Dynamics


A Joosr Guide to… The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman

Don’t give a book.
Give a library.
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)