John Buchan

The Runagates Club

The Runagates Club (1928) was John Buchan’s last collection of short stories, and is a classic of British interwar short fiction. These twelve stories were written from 1913 to 1927, when he was at the peak of his powers.
Buchan designed The Runagates Club as a showcase to bring together the best of his magazine fiction. He repurposed these stories with new beginnings, framing them as after-dinner stories told over the port in a late 1920s private gentleman’s dining-club. The narrators are a ready-made cast of storytelling characters, and Buchan filled out their backgrounds to fit the patrician, clubland background. This is interwar story-telling at its very best.
The critical introduction by Buchan expert Kate Macdonald sets out the publishing history, context, plots and thematic links between the stories and Buchan’s other works.
For readers of classic adventure, the early thriller, vintage supernatural and horror, First World War espionage, and for John Buchan fans.
309 printed pages
Original publication

Other versions



    How did you like the book?

    Sign in or Register
Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)