Inger Gammelgaard Madsen

Inger Gammelgaard Madsen is a prolific Danish crime author. She is best known for her Rolando Benito detective series.

Inger Gammelgaard Madsen was born in Aarhus, Denmark, near the serene city of Galten. Raised on a horticulture farm, she enjoyed a picturesque childhood amid fields, marshes, and greenhouses filled with fragrant freesias. Inspired by the lush landscapes, her love for storytelling blossomed during her days assisting in the greenhouses, creating imaginative tales to make the work more captivating.

Educated as a graphic designer in 1981, Inger embarked on a career in graphics. In 2001, she founded her own graphic design company, IGM DESIGN GRAFISK, rekindling her passion for writing. Her journey into crime fiction began with the novel "Dukkebarnet" (The Doll Child), which, after initial challenges, was eventually published in 2008 by Forlaget DarkLights. This marked the inception of her crime novels, delving into the mysteries that captivate Police Commissioner Rolando Benito.

Forlaget Farfalla, a publishing house she established in 2010, allows her to control all aspects of book production. Balancing her dual roles as a writer and graphic designer, she gained the freedom to bring her stories to life.

In a significant career move in 2014, Inger closed her graphic business to devote herself entirely to writing. This transition allowed her to fulfil a childhood dream, making a living from her craft. Her dedication extended to handling graphic work, from book covers to layout and marketing.

In crafting her crime series, centred around Police Commissioner Rolando Benito, Inger draws inspiration from current events that pique her interest. Each book is grounded in authentic events, sparking her imagination to weave captivating fictional narratives. Keenly following developments in police work, forensics, and crime series, Inger's writing mirrors her passion for the genre.

With a penchant for character-driven narratives, Inger allows her creations to dictate the course of her novels. Her primary aim is to entertain readers with thrilling stories, and her dedication to this goal has propelled her to become a prominent figure in Danish crime fiction.

The 17th volume of Inger Gammelgaard Madsen's Rolando Benito series will be out in March 2024 under the title The Summer of Death.

Presently, Inger resides in Risskov, surrounded by the same inspiring elements of nature that have fueled her creativity throughout her remarkable career. The lush forests and landscapes continue to provide the backdrop for her crime stories.

Photo credit: inger-gammelgaard-madsen.dk
years of life: 3 January 1960 present


boogielkedshared an impression2 months ago
👍Worth reading

Hmm not bad

  • Inger Gammelgaard Madsen
    Burning Guilt – Chapter 1
    • 19
    • 1
  • fb2epub
    Drag & drop your files (not more than 5 at once)